MacPilot 3.0.8 available for $19.95


6834BB94-8EA1-4E28-82AB-349EE53516FC.jpg

DC258907-E5C5-49F5-8A76-2CE96BDFCEC6.jpg

MacPilot 3
Version 3.0.8

MacPilot 3 is the bonus application in the latest MacHeist offering, as mentioned in an earlier post. I paid my $39 (as a registered purchaser of an earlier offering I benefited from the $10 discount) and now have a copy of Parallels Desktop 3.0 for Mac for less dosh than the normal $79!

As for MacPilot 3, I am only just getting familiar with it, but as I am still waiting for what the Mystery Bonus Application (for the first 1000 purchasers) I thought I tell you a bit about MacPilot 3.

Product Description
The developers like to say that MacPilot is for anyone who is scared of the terminal or can’t be bothered to learn its commands. using it, you can easily enable and disable hidden features in Mac OS X, optimize and repair your system, and perform several routine maintenance operations with the click of a button.

This means you can, for instance:

• increase computer performance with only a few clicks of the mouse

• optimise your network for broadband connectivity

• customise Apple File Sharing

• carry out essential system maintenance easily.

MacPilot is similar to other system utilities for the Mac such as Cocktail, TinkerTool and Onyx, but its developers claim it can do much more than any of these. Indeed the list goes on…. disable the translucent menubar in Leopard, disable menu items for security, disable icon caches, set history limits, erase recently used files, prevent your dock from being modified and so on.

Certainly, I have only just begun to scratch the surface of what it is capable of. One feature I have used is to strip out the unwanted localisations (such as Italian) from installed software to save on disk space. I have painful memories of MonoLingual screwing up my Mac and having to do a complete reinstall! Needless to say, I was a bit nervous but having checked out the forums and making sure I had got backups, I took the plunge and it worked flawlessly. So, top marks to the developers for that.

I will post an update when I have played around with the software a bit more. In the meantime, if you want to try out MacPilot 3, visit the developer’s (Koingo Software) site here.

You can download a 15 day trial and the software costs $19.95 for a single user licence. It requires OS X 10.4+.

Leave a Reply

